Great Expectations

It has been a really long time since I have written anything! You would think that since I have been an maternity leave since September and with all my “free time” I would have been updating this. But…I haven’t. Such is life.

Since the last time that I posted, my husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary and found out that we are expecting!

So, let’s rewind. We decided to have me go off birth control in May, being that our anniversary is May 16 and my birth control pack ended right before May, I had my last period the end of April. We had a cruise planned for our anniversary. With the intentions of “this could possibly be our last big trip as a couple for a long time.” Little did we know that our two girls were already on their way and traveling with us. The week of our cruise I felt great…mostly. I was a little queasy, but I thought that was because we were on a cruise ship. The only other thing that was off for me was that alcohol was not tasting all that great to me. Even my favorite cocktails just weren’t doing it for me. We had a great week, exploring, laughing, eating a ton. We were exhausted on our flight home. I’ve flown a lot, and have never felt the slightest bit sick. but on the flight home I just couldn’t shake nausea. I thought maybe I was super tired and just recovering from a very eventful week.It was on the plane ride home that I was looking through my period tracker app (actually, I was updating the ‘intimacy dates’ from that week, that I realized I was several days late.  My heart skipped a beat, I tried to rationlize that it was just my body adjusting to not being on birth control and trying to regulte itself. AFter we got home I  was in a little bit of a daze. My husband noticed something was wrong. I queitly stated “I think I need to take a pregnancy test.” His reaction was much like mine at first. “maybe your body is just adjusting…” He promptly passed out early that evening and slept soundly through the night. I, on the other hand, laid awake all night and got out of bed early the next morning to rush to the store to buy a pregnancy test.

I didn’t say anything to him about it at first when I got home, I simply left the tests on the counter in a bag, hoping that he would notice. He did. He asked me if I was going to take it. I said eventually…That afternoon I couldn’t take it anymore. I asked him “Do you want to be with me when I take it, or do you want me to let you know after?” He said it was up to me. I didn’t say anything. I just went into our master bathroom, locked the door, turned to fan on and peed on the stick. From what you see in movies and TV shows the next two minutes is supposed to feel like an eternity. I swear, as soon as I peed on the stick, it turned positive. So I took the other one in the pack. Same thing. I sat on the toilet for about a half hour bawling my eyes out. Until my phone buzzed with a text from my husband that said “I love you.”

Summoning all my strength, excitement, fear and every other emotion that I was feeling, I went out into the living room. I’m not exactly sure what I said next. I think I said “So I peed on a stick.” He looked at me and asked “What did it say?” In typical me fashion I responded with “Do you want to guess?” “Was it positive?” I nodded my head as more tears came. “You’re pregnant?” He gave me a hug “You’re pregnant!

2 thoughts on “Great Expectations

Leave a Reply

